Stiggy’s Film of the Day The Devil’s Rain (1975)

poster

Stigmatophilia's gore splattered corner of insanity.

After watching this low-budget slab of half cheese/ half-ripe manure I am still reeling from the fact that it was directed by Robert Fuest, yes the guy who made one of my absolute all time favourite horror films The Abominable Dr. Phibes just four years previous to this little ‘gem’, as well as Dr. Phibes Rises Again, and Brit thriller And Soon the Darkness…  ( I am using gem as a substitute for shit, oh well I have said it now). Now we have that out in the open I am going to have to backtrack to highlight while this film was mostly dire in all the worst ways possible, it did have its fair share of memorable moments, so is not a complete write off.

I blame Rosemary’s Baby for a lot of these crazy pensioner Satanist type films, I loved Rosemary, but the early 70’s seems to have…

View original post 968 more words

Leave a Reply

